Who's involved

More than 1,000 people have shared their expertise in the development of Compass.

Compass Governance Committee


Pictured here: (back row) Paul Mattessich, Neal Cuthbert, Susan Brower, Frank Forsberg, Nate Dorr, Steven Rosenstone, Craig Helmstetter, (front row) Randi Roth, Jennifer Ford Reedy, MayKao Hang, Carolyn Link, Kim Price, Marilee Grant.

Brad Barth, President/CEO, West Central Initiative
Susan Brower, State Demographer, State Demographic Office
Neal Cuthbert, Vice President, Program, McKnight Foundation
Nancy Fasching, Senior Administration and Grants Officer, Southwest Initiative Foundation
Jennifer Ford Reedy, President, Bush Foundation
Frank Forsberg, Senior Vice President, Greater Twin Cities United Way
Kathy Gaalswyk, President, Initiative Foundation
Marilee Grant, Community Relations Director, Boston Scientific
MayKao Hang, President and CEO, Amherst H. Wilder Foundation
Charlotte Johnson, Trustee, Otto Bremer Trust
Eric Jolly, Minnesota Philanthropy Partners
Carolyn Link, Executive Director, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota Foundation
Paul Mattessich, Executive Director, Wilder Research
Tim Penny, President and CEO, Southern Minnesota Initiative
Carolyn Roby, Vice President, Wells Fargo Foundation Minnesota
Steven Rosenstone, Chancellor, Minnesota State
Tony Sertich, President and CEO, Northland Foundation
Patrick Troska, The Jay & Rose Phillips Family Foundation of Minnesota
Sandra Vargas, President and CEO, The Minneapolis Foundation
Karen White, Vice President, Northwest Minnesota Foundation

Compass steering committee


Pictured here: (back row) Margaret Arzdorf-Schubbe (for Allison Barmann), Dave Peters, Greg Wagner, Nate Dorr, Mary Rothchild, (front row) Bruce Johansen, Devon Meade, Nancy Fasching, Claire Chang, Diane Benjamin, Lisa Stone.

Allison Barmann, Vice President Strategy and Learning, Bush Foundation
Diane Benjamin, Program Officer, Otto Bremer Trust
Susan Brower, State Demographer, State Demographic Office
Claire Chang, Senior Program Officer, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota Foundation
Nate Dorr, Program Officer, Northwest Minnesota Foundation
Nancy Fasching, Senior Administrator and Grants Officer, Southwest Initiative Foundation
Catherine Gray; Director of Impact Strategy, Civic Engagement; The Minneapolis Foundation
Sarah Hernandez, Program Officer, The McKnight Foundation
Don Hickman; Vice President, Community; Initiative Foundation
Bruce Johansen, Program Manager, Twin Cities Media Alliance
Sean Kershaw, Executive Director, Citizens League
Devon Meade, Senior Research Analyst, Greater Twin Cities United Way
Kallie Rollenhagen, Communications, Southern Minnesota Initiative
Mary Rothchild, Director, Strategic Partnerships, Minnesota State College and Universities
Lisa Stone, Senior Community Relations Specialist, Boston Scientific
Erik Torch, Grant Program Manager, Northland Foundation
Greg Wagner, Economic Development Planner, West Central Initiative

Compass advisory group co-conveners

Aging – Dawn Simonson, Metropolitan Area Agency on Aging
Children and Youth – Chris Ganzlin, The McKnight Foundation
Civic Engagement – Sean Kershaw, Citizens League
Civic Engagement (2015) – Diane Tran, HealthEast Care System
Disparities – Sandra L. Vargas, Minneapolis Foundation
Early Childhood – Barbara Yates, Minnesota Early Learning Foundation
Economy and Workforce – Michael Gorman, Split Rock Partners
Economy and Workforce (Statewide) –
   Bill Blazar, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
   Kathy Tunheim, Senior Advisor to the Governor for Job Creation
Education – Alice Seagren, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Education
Education (Statewide) –
   Brenda Cassellius, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Education
   Marilee Grant, Boston Scientific
Environment – Steve Morse, Minnesota Environmental Partnership
Health – Mary Brainerd, HealthPartners
Housing – Tim Marx, Commissioner, Minnesota Housing
Immigration –
   Bill Blazar, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
   Sandra L. Vargas, The Minneapolis Foundation
Public Safety – Tom Johnson, Council on Crime and Justice
Transportation (2007) – Bob Johns, Center for Transportation Studies, U. of M.
Transportation (2014) – Charles Zelle, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Transportation

See all the community members who worked on the advisory groups

Please note, affiliations are as of the time that the groups convened.

Minnesota Compass

Minnesota Compass
Led by Wilder Research

© 2016. All rights reserved.